Allysia Merino

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum & Infant Care

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: *

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care

About

AREAS SERVED: *

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (646) 784-2086

Email: amerino8@icloud.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I babysat and nannied for a few different families as well as take care and attend births of 6 of my nephews and nieces.

What led you to become a Doula?: My best friend got pregnant and I helped her do all the research and attend classes, I loved it since then and am very big on the "it takes a village" mentality.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I often get told that I keep very positive, no matter the situation. I will try my hardest to keep a big smile on my face and keep pushing forward. I am also empathetic, I get a lot of people seeking advice about things because I can reach them on a deeper level than most.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Friends and family, I like to find out what people closest to me have done and been through. After that I read book and websites like thebump.com, baby center or mom blogs.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Excitement first because I know all the joys that must be running through her mind. I also want to support her as much as possible because sometimes this world can be cruel to pregnant women or first time moms.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: As a birth worker, the best gift I could give would be swaddle blankets and snacks. I probably couldn't survive the first few months of motherhood without those things.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Sons of Anarchy is my favorite TV show of all time. The new Planet of the Apes movie are my favorite too.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere warm and sunny!

What is your favorite food?: All food is my favorite food but I love a good ribeye and any comfort food.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: My favorite way to spend a day off is at home with my son and soon to be husband, or hiking with them through the mountains.

Who lives in your house?: My boyfriend, my son, me and my 5 year old dog.