Amanda Crass

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum & Infant Care

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Rainy Day Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

About

AREAS SERVED: Olympia and surrounding areas

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (360) 649-9796

Email: amanda@rainydaydoula.com

Website: http://www.rainydaydoula.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I am a birth, postpartum and infant care doula and I offer childbirth education. I have been doing childcare since I was 12 years old and was a preschool teacher for 9 years. I have always been around everything pregnancy, motherhood and early childhood. I have two children of my own as well.

What led you to become a Doula?: My son's birth is what led me to becoming a doula. He was a preemie and breech. He went to flip himself and broke my water. When he was born, I wasn't even able to see him because his apgar score was so low and he was not doing well that they immediately rushed him to the NICU. Policy was that a parent had to accompany baby everywhere so my husband had to go with. I hadn't even delivered the placenta yet. So there I was, alone. Worried about my baby, and I start to hemorrhage and the ob, the resident, and the three students that I allowed in my room had to figure out how to stop it and they were having a hard time. I had 6 people at my bottom half and was completely alone up top. No one to talk to, no one to tell me what was happening, no one to comfort me or help if I needed anything. I wanted to get into the field that so I could help other women not have that experience. So I became a birth doula.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Caring, sweet, confident, compassionate. Loving and supportive. Understanding and empathetic. Friendly and personable.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: evidencebasedbirth.com; scienceandsensibility.org; healthychildren.org; Ina May and Penny Simkin

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I am overwhelmed with joy for them. It is such a wonderful time.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: To support them in THEIR choices and to show them that they are able to do this. To give them their confidence and help them bring out their voice.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: This Is Us and The Good Doctor currently

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere with family. Family reunions are our favorite!

What is your favorite food?: All things thai and chinese!!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I can be found outdoors, near the water or in the woods. I love to just enjoy the beauty that is in front of me. We do everything as a family so our little unit of 4 can be found going to the zoo, exploring nearby, bowling, painting, etc. We love participating in sports and being active and having fun.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and I live here with our two incredible kiddos. We also have 2 dogs, 1 cat and a mouse at the moment.