Amanda Martin

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Childbirth Educator, Pre-CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: The Birth Nerd Kelowna

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Kelowna, West Kelowna, Lake Country (Winfield)

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  250-863-6113

Email: amandamartindoula@gmail.com

Website:  thebirthnerdkelowna.ca

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I spent many years providing practical, emotional, and some medical support to my mother who had MS.

What led you to become a Doula?: The births of my boys really showed me what a rewarding, yet lonely and challenging time of our lives new parenthood can be. It shaped my belief that there is not enough truly unbiased support available and led me to pursue doula work to help provide that to other families.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I am kind, reliable, creative, and caring.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Evidence based websites like Evidence Based Birth, Kellymom, Birth Without Fear and the Positive Birth Movement. Also, podcasts like the Birth Hour, The Postpartum Podcast, and Birthful.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I wonder what her journey has been like, how she is doing, feeling, and if she feels supported.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: My support and understanding that this is her and her family’s experience, and to use my experience and knowledge to help them with their goals.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: We really enjoy watching movies and TV, so I have a lot! I am partial to sci-fi/fantasy comedy types. Current favourites include Avengers, Guardians of the Galaxy, Grim, Bones and Blacklist.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: We haven’t gone far from home for vacations yet, but I would love to do a Disneyland/Universal Studios trip soon.

What is your favorite food?: Dessert.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Not needing to do anything. Relaxing, reading a book, watching a movie, spending time with my family.

Who lives in your house?: My husband, myself, our two boys, our gerbil Creeper, and now our two brother rats, Chewie (because he likes to chew) and Cooper.