Angela Kommer

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Labor Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Omaha Birth and Babies

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: NE

CONTACT INFO:

Email: kommer4ever@gmail.com

Phone: (402) 359-3566

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/kommer4ever

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I am a mother of three amazing kids! With all three pregnancies and births, I realized that each one was so different and there is no "one right way" to have a baby.

What led you to become a Doula?: Being at the birth of my niece was one of the most wondrous, transforming things I ever had the privilege to witness. My sister-in-law was so amazing and brave. She showed me the goddess we all have inside of us. I knew right then that I wanted to help guide ladies through this amazing process that birth is!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

When I tell people that I am a doula they always say things like, “Yes, that just seems like something you would be good at”, or “You are very calming to be around, I could see why being a doula is your calling”. The best compliment I can get from anyone is that they can be themselves. There is no judgment, just love and everyone has a right to their thoughts, opinions, and beliefs.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I love to read! My two favorite books are The Big Book of Birth, by Erica Lyon and The Happiest Baby on the Block, by Harvey Karp, M.D.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I think, "Enjoy every moment mama, it goes so fast!" I always feel instant joy for a new mom, because I know that kind of love you're experiencing or about to experience.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Making sure they know what a wonderful parent they are, that they are doing a good job. Hearing those words can make a huge difference in a new parent's life.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I love the show FRIENDS/ My two favorite movies Corina Corina and Pride and Prejudice

What is your favorite place to vacation?: I LOVE camping!

What is your favorite food?: Ramen. Like real ramen, not out of a package ramen.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Reading with a giant mug of tea or coffee// or doing anything outside.

Who lives in your house?: I live my husband/BFF, Philip, my 14-year-old son, Elijah, my know it all, 8-year-old daughter Cora, my feisty 6-year-old daughter Etta and my old man Italian Greyhound, Corbin.