Ashley Sova

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Labor & pre-CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: CLEbaby

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor & Postpartum Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Northeast Ohio

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  216.694.8266

Email:  ashley@clebaby.com

Website:  www.clebaby.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have a Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology, and I studied mood disorders as part of the curriculum. I am especially interested in postpartum mood disorders. Other life experiences that prepared me for birth and postpartum work: I was a nanny for several years, have babysat kids of all ages my entire life, and birthed two babies of my own.

What led you to become a Doula?: My own experiences birthing my kids. After I utilized a doula for my second birth, my doula offered to train and mentor me because she was retiring at the end of the year. It became a reality once additionally training through ProDoula and realizing that I had finally found my career and life niche.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I’ve heard that I’m a good listener, organized, and passionate about my career and family.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I don’t think I have a favorite. I love reading and I plow through books, scholarly articles, blog posts…anything I can get my hands on. I think each family deserves custom support, and so I try to refer families to the resources that best fit them.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I always think of the roller coaster of emotions I experienced while pregnant: fear, excitement, love… and hope that she is coping well and enjoying (most of) the ride.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Unbiased support, information (if she wants it), and an open mind so that we can talk honestly and realistically about how hard having a new baby really is, and what I can do to make it easier.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: We are huge Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead fans in our house. My favorite movie is Big Fish, one of Tim Burton's lesser known films

What is your favorite place to vacation?: I loved Barcelona, Spain, and Sorrento, Italy! But normally I prefer somewhere tropical where I can unplug, sleep in, and relax. I can’t wait until my kids are older and we can visit Disney and The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.

What is your favorite food?: The guacamole at Momocho in Ohio City! I could eat a tub of it (but I probably shouldn’t?).

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Taking the kids swimming, boating on Lake Erie, hitting up a musical in the theater district, going to see the Cavs/Browns/Indians play, and trying out a new CLE restaurant.

Who lives in your house?: I live with my adoring hubby Stevie, my spunky toddler Aria, my wild baby Nico, and my furballs, Layla and Gatsby.