Aubrey Thayer

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Labor Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Evergreen Valley Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor/Birth Support

About

AREAS SERVED: WA, ID

CONTACT INFO:

Email: audawe@gmail.com

Phone: (509) 688-7412

Website: http://www.evergreenvalleydoula.com

Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/evergreenvalleydoula

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have specialty training and education specific to mental health alongside 13 years of experience caring for individuals with mental health and behavioral needs. While this isn’t directly related to birth work, it has been largely helpful in my daily interactions, both personal and professional with being able to truly meet every individual where they are at in life without judgement or bias.

What led you to become a Doula?: After experiencing the birth of my own children and witnessing the births of my nieces and nephew, I discovered the support that poured out from my family wasn’t something that everyone had built in. That’s when I learned there was an entire profession dedicated to providing that support for others and it ignited my passion, causing me to dive in head first!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

“You have such a genuine empathetic spirit”.
“You are so awesome, I love your caring heart”.
“She provides a kind, gentle, and professional service”.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: It really depends on what a person is looking for. I keep a public list of local and online resources on my website and a comprehensive lending library.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I smile every time and think to myself, “That is amazing. I hope they are receiving all the loving care and support they deserve in this special time”.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: An open heart, a listening ear, and a helping hand.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I will never tire of watching House or The New Girl!

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Hood River, OR. The entire Columbia River Gorge is incredible and I love all of the beautiful hikes and sights to see there.

What is your favorite food?: It’s a toss up between tacos or Thai food.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I love a quiet day in where I can have some time to myself to read or paint, but if it’s not too cold out I love spending my time exploring the woods.

Who lives in your house?: Our household includes my husband, our 3 awesome kids, and our two fur babies - a Great Dane and a Shih Tzu.