Avie Herman

Avie Herman

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Fashionably Frum Motherhood

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care Doula Support, Infant Feeding Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Toronto and Thornhill

CONTACT INFO:

Email:
avie@fashionablyfrum.com

Phone:
(416) 579-7702

Website:
http://www.fashionablyfrum.com

Facebook Page:
https://www.facebook.com/fashionablyfrummotherhood/

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I'm a professional babywearing educator, run social media accounts that aim to support mothers and have two young children of my own. I know what it's like adapting to parenthood and nurturing young children and I love supporting new parents as they embark on their own journeys, starting or growing a family.

What led you to become a Doula?: I have always been passionate about women's issues and I've always been drawn to pregnancy, birth and caring for new babies and new mothers. I love working with families and leaving everyone a little calmer than they were when I arrived.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

My friends and clients appreciate that I’m genuine, relatable and compassionate. I have a breadth of knowledge about pregnancy, postpartum and infant care that I’m always expanding and always happy to share.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Books I recommend: A Good Birth, Happiest Baby on the Block, Breastfeeding made Simple, Guilt-Free Bottle-Feeding, Born to Eat. Online Resources: https://pregnantchicken.com/ https://kellymom.com/ Instagram Accounts: @mommy.labornurse @postpartumstress @navigatingpostpartum @fashionablyfrummotherhood

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I wonder if the mother is doing okay and how she's adjusting.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Peace of mind, rest and validation.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Gilmore Girls

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere with a beach

What is your favorite food?: Sushi

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Taking my kids somewhere fun, like a waterpark or the science center.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and our two daughters.