Briana Smith

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum, Childbirth Educator, Pre-Certified Infant Feeding Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Birth and Beyond, LLC

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum & Infant Feeding Specialist Support as well as Childbirth Education Classes

About

AREAS SERVED: Wake, Durham, Orange, Johnston, and Surrounding Counties

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (919) 239-1613

Email: brianaruthdoula@gmail.com

Website: birthandbeyonddoulas.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have a background in Public Health and formerly worked in Population Health Management where I learned a lot about informed decision making in health care. I was a nanny for several years before diving into birth work after seeing my younger sisters birth. I am a labor doula, postpartum doula, childbirth educator, sibling doula, infant feeding specialist, and placenta specialist. I also facilitate new parent groups, as I have a passion for the fourth trimester! Formerly, I worked for two agencies before working independently as a doula. I worked with incarcerated women in labor for one of these agencies which was a very enlightening experience.

What led you to become a Doula?: All of the women in my family have many babies, so I was able to see various kinds of births and various types of recoveries, in addition to diverse feeding choices. I saw the kinds of challenges and rewards that birthing and parenting came with, and the lack of support that society itself provided. I wanted to facilitate change on a larger level, but I also wanted to help individual families journey through birth and beyond.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I am a positive realist who’s smile brightens up a room.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Momseze app and local support groups!

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: THEY ARE ROCKSTARS!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Evidence based information and a nonjudgmental actively listening ear!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Power

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere with a body of water & sun.

What is your favorite food?: All things fried (don’t tell my nutritionist)!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: In or near a body of water in 80 degree weather.

Who lives in your house?: Me, my future husband, & the worst decision I ever made! (A puppy Rottweiler!)