Carissa Chamberlain


CURRENT STATUS: CD Childbirth Educator, Pre-CD Labor, Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Huckleberry Baby Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Support and Placenta Encapsulation


AREAS SERVED: McCall, Idaho and surrounding areas


Phone:  (208) 469-9049



Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Spending time in other countries has really driven home the fact that there is rarely only one right way to do things. I bring this mentality with me into birth work and it allows me to fully support parents in their choices for childbirth without bias.

What led you to become a Doula?: As much as I love babies, my interest in birth work has really stemmed from a desire to help and support women through what is an incredibly amazing and challenging time in life.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Sweet and caring is how most people tend to describe me. I’ve also been told that because of my resourcefulness and calm demeanor even in a crisis, I’m the person to have by your side in the event of a zombie apocalypse!

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?:, Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, The Birth Partner, Does This Pregnancy Make Me Look Fat and Hypnobirthing are all good reads.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I wonder if she is exhausted and if she has support and I wonder if she knows what a stellar job she is doing.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Peace of mind. Expectant and new mom’s have so much going on this is the best thing I can provide. As her birth doula she can rest assured that she will be completely supported in all the decision she makes during her labor. As a Postpartum Placenta Specialist she can be at ease knowing my standards and professionalism provide her with the very best service available.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Chuck. Funny, cheesy, action, never fails to entertain me.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: It’s more of a working vacation, but when ever we can our family spends our winters in Central America volunteering and building relationships with the locals. We love the opportunity to step into a different culture, reconnect with each other and get re-inspired about our dreams and priorities.

What is your favorite food?: Well, I grew up with an Italian mom who is a great cook so I’m not sure anything can top mom’s homemade lasagna.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I’m a mom so could you please explain to me what a day off is? Just kidding (sort of), an ideal day would be a mix of snuggling and playing with my girls, getting outside for some biking or hiking, a few hours to get my creative juices flowing with woodworking, crafting, cooking...and of course a quiet evening at home with some time to talk and reconnect with my husband. Yep, that sounds pretty perfect right now.

Who lives in your house?: To the best of my knowledge it’s just myself, my husband and our two beautiful, funny, adventurous daughters.