Christi Banks

Christi Banks

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: ProDoula CD Labor, P&ICD

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Doulas of Bellingham

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Support, Postpartum & Infant Care Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Whatcom and Skagit Counties

CONTACT INFO:

Email:
info@doulasofbellingham.com

Phone:
(425) 320-7886

Website:
https://www.doulasofbellingham.com/

Facebook Page:
https://www.facebook.com/dobagency/

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Having been a doula since 2012 I've seen a lot of change in this industry. I took 3 different doula trainings before making ProDoula my forever home. So I have to say my background experience that would be beneficial is going through the changes in doula work that have drastically improved the professionalism while removing agenda-based doula support.

What led you to become a Doula?: After becoming a stay at home mom I found myself bored and watching a lot of documentaries. I stumbled on a birth documentary which peaked an interest. I just couldn't stop researching all things birth work and decided this was a real passion I could pursue.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I am professional, passionate, a leader and a powerhouse in the birth community. That I am gentle, compassionate and welcoming.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Doulas of course! I work closely with IBCLCs, parenting educators, babywearing technicians, car seat technicians, perinatal mental health specialists, infant massage educators and more. It's hard to pick a couple favorites.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Congratulations! This is going to be an incredible journey!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: To meet them where they are. Offer an unbiased ear and help them create their pregnancy, labor and postpartum systems in the way they attunes to their individual needs & desires. I don't come in as a rescuer. I come in to help parents feel confident in their own abilities.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I'm a crime show fan. Lately Forensic Files

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Kihei Maui, Hawaii

What is your favorite food?: Any vegetable. I love veggies.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: At home with my family. Gardening throughout the day and settling in to enjoy the lake view. Sitting around the patio table with my husband at the grill. After dinner, lighting up the torches and soaking in the hot tub.

Who lives in your house?: My husband Micah, bonus son Finn, bonus daughter Ivy and son Eli.