Courtney Marie Long

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum, Pre-Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Doulas of Washington, DC LLC

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor support, postpartum support, placenta encapsulation, childbirth education, and newborn care classes.

About

AREAS SERVED: Washington, DC metro area

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  (202) 670-4073

Email:  courtneylong@doulasofwashingtondc.com

 

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: My background as a nanny has definitely made meeting each family where they are second nature for me.

What led you to become a Doula?: My interest in postpartum work came from my own experience after the birth of my son. Living in DC away from family meant that we largely relied on friends and ourselves to get through that period. We were lucky to have a supportive network of friends, but not everyone has that and if they do they may not have the flexibility to be as helpful as they would like to be. I knew after the first couple of weeks that I wanted to work with new families during this important time. From there I developed an interest in broadening my knowledge and services to include infant care classes, labor support, childbirth education, and placenta encapsulation.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

The positive comment that I receive most often is that my presence is very calming.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: The Breastfeeding Center for Greater Washington, Our Baby Class classes, and carseatblog.com are a few of my favorites.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: When I see a pregnant woman or new moms I always think of all of the hope and possibilities for the baby’s future and who they might become.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The best gift that I can give a new parent is a judgement free space to process their experience.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: My favorite movie is Pride and Prejudice and my favorite TV show is Grey’s Anatomy

What is your favorite place to vacation?: For now, my favorite places to vacation are where our extended family lives (Cincinnati and Central Florida).

What is your favorite food?: My favorite food is veggie pad thai with egg.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: My favorite way to spend a day off would include at least the following: one on one outdoor time with my son, coffee, an organization project at home, a bike ride on a cool day, and pizza/movie night to close the day.

Who lives in your house?: My fiance and my five year old son.