Dana Drissel

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Dana D. Doula, LLC

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Pennsylvania, Maryland, New York, New Jersey, Delaware

CONTACT INFO:

Email: dana.d.doula@gmail.com

Phone: (267) 400-1775

Website: http://www.facebook.com/dana.d.doula

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I delivered twins in July 2018 for Chinese intended parents. My intended parents spoke limited English, (what I would equate to a Kindergarten or First Grade level.) Because of this, I had to learn how to research for them. I had to first become familiar with what seemed to be everything birth and pregnancy related, and then try and translate it for the family. The stress I went through as a surrogate trying to navigate IVF, health insurance, life insurance, vaginal v. csection, breastfeeding v. formula, was a challenge. However, as with anything challenging, comes triumph. I would never trade my experience because I became educated in many areas. I climbed mountains that I didn't know existed, and I filled my soul with anything and everything pregnancy/labor/postpartum related so I could feel well-versed and empowered. After I delivered the twins, I found another way I could help support women and their newborns. I donated breast milk. I found local families and families states away who could not produce for various reasons and continued to pump for them. I also continually donate to Prolacta Bioscience, a company that fortifies breast milk and sends it all across the United States. I have continued to support women in this way and am proud to be contributing to such an amazing product.

What led you to become a Doula?: I was a young, single, and very scared mother. I had my daughter when I was nineteen and wished for a doula. My daughter's father was in and out of her life, so I was left alone even when he was right next to me. I needed someone to talk to. Someone who didn't necessarily need to understand what I was going through, but someone who would just listen to me. I became interested in birth work when I realized that many women feel like this. Not just women, and not just single parents, but thousands of people. I don't want another parent to have to feel alone. My goal is to bridge the gap between the "old" you and the "new" you. I want to support you in all of your decisions, and really just be there to support you in any way I can.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I am funny, determined, loyal, and empathetic. I will go to the ends of the Earth to make someone’s day better.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Honestly, Facebook is my favorite pregnancy and parenting resource. There are so many "Mom groups", breastfeeding groups, labor support groups, and parenting groups that I find that's the quickest way to get suggestions or support. I do find that if you are active on social media, you can easily find a group that is specific to what you are looking for. I also love reading blogs (like Kourtney Kardashian's), reading spiritual books, and just spending time with women talking about women things.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I love pregnancy, and anything related to it. I love seeing how beautiful women look pregnant, and how beautiful they are after they deliver. My immediate thought is to check on the mom and make sure her mental health and physical health is okay!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: As a birth worker, the best gift for new parents would probably just be unending support and love. My goal is to be next to you, behind you, and in front of you in every decision you make. If you need to navigate something new, we can do it together!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I am a big The Office fan.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: I love Maine, and Myrtle Beach.

What is your favorite food?:

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: My favorite way to spend a day off is enjoying the outside weather. I love to hike, explore new areas, go to new coffee shops, take pictures, and just spend time with my nieces and nephew.

Who lives in your house?: My daughter and my fiance.