Danica Buss

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Danica Buss Birth Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Rochester, MN and the surrounding Southeast MN area

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  507-828-2649

Email:  birthservices@danicabuss.com

Website:  www.danicabuss.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I've cared for mothers, children, and families since my very first job at twelve years old. I was a nanny until I became a mother, I was a preschool teacher, and I'm a health coach who encourages women at all stages of pre-pregnancy, prenatal, and postpartum.

What led you to become a Doula?: I've always had an interest and passion for caring for babies and new moms, but it was the experience of my son's birth that sealed the deal.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I’ve been told I’m caring, genuine, encouraging, strong, and supportive. I’m a very loyal person.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: For pregnancy favorites include; the website "Evidence Based Birth," the podcast "The Birth Hour," and the books "Ina May Gaskin's Guide to Childbirth" and "The Mindful Mom-to-Be" by Lori Bregman.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I immediately think about the beautiful miracles it all is. I always want to get coffee with that woman and swap stories about the wild adventure of motherhood.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: First and foremost, I give her my full attention to genuinely hear what she has to say. Sometimes this is the absolute best way to support her, and other times this allows me to learn the absolute best way to support her.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: My all-time favorite show is Parenthood, and I currently really love This Is Us.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: San Diego, California

What is your favorite food?: Strawberries and dark chocolate

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Going for a long walk and playing at the park with my son.

Who lives in your house?: Me, my husband, our son, and our dog