Deleah Woody

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum & Infant CareDoula and Pre-Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist, Infant Feeding Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Hickory Family Doulas

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care Doula and Postpartum Placenta Specialist

About

AREAS SERVED: Hickory, Lenoir, Morganton, Marion, Statesville, Gastonia and surrounding areas

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: 828-403-4849

Email: hello@hickoryfamilydoulas.com

Website: hickoryfamilydoulas.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have been a birth doula for about 4 years now. I am also a trained postpartum and infant care doula and a postpartum placenta specialist. I have taken part in tons of events and trainings to bring the best care possible to my clients.

What led you to become a Doula?: I became interested in doulas and the work they do while I was researching and planning for my own birth and postpartum. As I researched, I found that there was a lack of doulas and other resources for expecting and new mothers in my community. Although my pregnancy ended with an early loss, I still remained interested in supporting new parents through their parenting journies.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Friends and clients say that I have a warm, steady, grounding presence. And that I am professional and bring an added level of expertise to their team.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: My favorite resources depend on what my clients need and what will provide them with the information they desire.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I wonder if this new mother is confident in her abilities and whether she has a support team in place to help her navigate her new reality.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: A safe space to grow their confidence in their parenting abilities.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I'm a Shonda Rhimes fiend, so Grey's Anantomy, Scandal and How To Get Away With Murder are my go-tos. But for right now, I'm hooked on Arrow.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Usually the beach. I'd love to go back out to west to Colorado.

What is your favorite food?: Macaroni & Cheese. So. Good.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: On my days off I like to relax at home and watch some Netflix.

Who lives in your house?: I live with my dogs, Max and Ruby and my kitty, Nova.