Eleanora Mikulina

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Eleanora Mikulina Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: San Francisco, East Bay, Penisula, South Bay

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  925.999.0438       

Email:  mikulion@gmail.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: In recent decades, all of my work has been associated with children.Throughout my experiences as a mother, a gymnastics coach, and a nanny, my own and other children have taught me to enjoy every day, to look at the world with eyes wide open, to forgive, to be surprised and to be sincere, to create and to be curious. They are our best teachers. We were the same in our childhood too. Perhaps that is why I have very good contact with children, regardless of their age. They feel and accept me, and I do them too. As a nanny I have worked with children of many ages - starting from 1 month to 6 years. Regardless of age, a child learns best through fun and creative games. At the California Gymnastics Academy, as a coach, I worked with children 18 months and up, and I know which preschool targeted skills can help children to grow up strong, flexible, and confident. Working with people as a Public Relations manager, I have developed the ability to listen and to hear, organizational skills, flexibility in dealing with people, planning my activities and prioritizing tasks. My passion for yoga helps me to better understand myself, to be confident, calm and to stay healthy. My degrees in Public Relations Management, in Microelectronics and certificates in music, sewing, interior design, CPR & First Aid are helping me to be versatile and creative in working with kids.

What led you to become a Doula?: Kids are our future! “A ship will sail the way you name it.” A good start is always important. I believe that caring about babies is one of the most rewarding jobs a person can have. This is the work for and from my heart.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

“Eleanora is a natural with children (and adults, too). She is a wonderful individual who exudes kindness and happiness to everyone she meets. On a personal level, Eleanora is an exceptional mother. I have seen Eleanora’s own children grow and blossom into the terrific individuals they are today. This speaks to Eleanora’s unique ability to relate to all individuals from babies to adults.” “Eleanora is an extremely bright, friendly, dependable, and positive individual. She loves children and children love her.” “She is a very creative person and has great imagination… Most importantly, we always felt that our children have been cared for by a very loving, dependable and responsible person.”

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: My favorite pregnancy/parenting resource is Blossom Birth Center in Palo Alto, which provides child birth preparation classes, Prenatal Yoga, breastfeeding classes, baby wearing classes and much more.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I think that being a mom is the main mission of the woman, as motherhood is a part of nature and the miracle of nature. This is not just a physiological condition, that is a special spiritual mood. When I see a future mother, I feel admiration! A pregnancy is not always easy, but it is always a joy.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: My care will give her confidence, peace of mind, joy of motherhood and the experience of raising babies, my own and other's.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: My favorite TV show is BBC: Planet Earth and movie is The Secret. Also I like City of Angels; The Lovers; All movies about Indiana Jones; Disney movies and cartoons.... too much :)

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Our Earth has a lot of beautiful places. My favorite place is a place where I have not been yet. I like to travel and to camp with my family, to discover a new places and to enjoy the views, to meditate by the ocean and to breath the fresh air, to hike or to swim in the lake, to wake up in the morning with the singing birds and to have a breakfast under the huge trees… When I do that everything becomes special.

What is your favorite food?: I like Russian style crepes with salmon or fruits with sour cream, an apple pie with ice cream and a hot herbal tea Teavana, or coffee latte with marshmallow covered with chocolate at the morning. I have a sweet tooth.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: In my free time, I enjoy singing, sewing, listening music or playing on the piano, taking yoga classes, making crafts, playing puzzle games like Sudoku, etc. I like to read books - anything I can learn from. Every Sunday we take a family hike.

Who lives in your house?: I live with my husband Alexander (he is my lottery ticket… :)), and with our black cat Alice. She is our youngest girl, just 10 years old and our family doctor. We have raised our own daughter Katsiaryna and son Alexander, who are now bright, young adults, 21 & 29 years old. They live separately from us now. We are a happy and friendly family and we love people, life, and nature.