Ellie Landru

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Ellie Landru Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum and Infant Care Doula Services and Placenta Encapsulation

About

AREAS SERVED: Frederick, Maryland and surrounding areas.

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  240-626-1891

Email:  ElizabethLandru@gmail.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have been parenting for the last 19 years, as the mother of three beautiful children. I've experienced mothering newborns, kids, teenagers, and adults. Having such an empowering first birth set the stage for my love of the journey into motherhood.

What led you to become a Doula?: My passion for birth work began as I sherpa'd my friends from pregnancy into motherhood...nearly a decade and a half later I learned that what I was doing had a name: "doula". I care deeply about providing non-judgmental support to women and families.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I’ve been told that I am easy to talk to, compassionate, and a resource for wisdom.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Wisdom handed down to me from my mother from her mother and grandmother. My favorite books are Ina May's Guide to Childbirth, Ina May's Guide to Breastfeeding, Healthy Sleep Habits Happy Child, Bringing up Bebe', Happiest Baby on the Block, KellyMom.com, local and online support groups such as ICAN, La Leche League & Birthing Circles.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: When I see a pregnant or brand new Mother, I am in awe of her beauty and what an amazing process she is going through growing and supporting new life.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: My care and support as I work to empower her to trust her instinct as she navigates her first steps in parenting.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Call the Midwife, Grey's Anatomy, Sherlock

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Mexico DF visiting family.

What is your favorite food?: Papaya and passion fruit salad.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: With my family hiking and looking for Geo caches.

Who lives in your house?: My loving husband and partner, our two beautiful daughters, and my son (when he's home from college...go Seahawks!!).