Emma Hudgins

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: pre-Certified Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Emma's Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Virginia

CONTACT INFO:

Email: eshudgins010900@gmail.com

Phone: (804) 725-6141

Website: www.emmasdoulaservices.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have three younger siblings and I have helped my mother raise them all of my life. This made me gain characteristics such as compassion, caring, and trustworthiness. These are extremely important in order to be a postpartum doula in order to connect with the client.

What led you to become a Doula?: I became interested in this work because of growing up on a farm. I birthed goats at age ten and cared for them afterward. This sparked my interest in birth work. I discovered what a doula was and I knew it was what I was supposed to do with my life.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

People have made comments that I am the “mom” of the group, meaning I take care of my friends. They say I am very organized, caring, passionate, and trustworthy.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I think the best pregnancy resources are the parents themselves. They have experienced first hand; anecdotes tell the best stories. Also, blogs are quick, easy reads that are helpful to mothers who have a question.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I think about how adorable they look, how I want to swaddle them, how I want to help the mother in anyway I can, and how lucky she is.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The best gift I can give to new parents is my support. Every parent needs support in order to make the infant time the best it can be.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Twilight Saga

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Kure Beach, North Carolina

What is your favorite food?: Chips and Salsa

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Go get a massage and a pedicure and then come home and clean!

Who lives in your house?: My boyfriend and I.