Erin Torres

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Erin Torres Postpartum Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Worcester County, Middlesex County, Central Massachusetts, 495 Belt

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  617.340.9013

Email:  erinanntorres@gmail.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Mother of 4. Experienced natural labor, c-section and VBAC. Experienced miscarriage and D&C. Breastfed all children with their own unique challenges including tongue tie. Executive turned mommy, understands the challenges and feelings a working mother experiences.

What led you to become a Doula?: I was compelled to help mothers postpartum after the birth of my 3rd child. It became evident to me that mothers neede help and assurance than what is traditionally provided. With the separation of families these days, many women do not support system to turn to. Nurturing the mother is so important after the birth of a child. Husbands/Fathers often times d have paternity leave and too in need of direction of how to help the mother and the child. After learning of so many wom struggling in secret postpartum, I realize a little reassurance and support can go such a long way and lead to successfu transitions in motherhood and a stronger mother/baby bond.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Kind & nurturing with a contagious confidence. Hard-working, creative problem solver. Has a sixth-sense; an ability to read others and understand exactly what they need. Passionate individual though-and-through.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Mothering the new mother. Happiest Baby on the Block.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Beautiful. Blessed.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Assurance and confidence. Belief and trust in themselves. Elimination of stress.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I love classic movies and musicals. Gone with the Wind. Fiddler on the Roof. Mary Poppins. Sound of Music. These are all cherished movies I learned to love by watching with my grandmother. Favorite TV shows = This is us and Empire.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: York, Maine. This is where my husband and I married overlooking the water. It's a very special and magical place for our family.

What is your favorite food?: I love traditional homecooked meals! Meatloaf and mashed potatoes with gravy. Chicken pot pie. Apple pie.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Enjoying the outdoors with my family. I love a good cup of coffee or tea over conversation and smiles.

Who lives in your house?: The love of my life and father of my children, Gabe; my four children Gabriel (6), Valencia (5), Julian (1), and our soon to arrive daughter on 2.6.17; and our two dogs Huckleberry and Jacques.