Eva Owen

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Labor, Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist, CD Postpartum & Infant Care

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Eva Owen

SERVICES PROVIDED: Birth & Postpartum Doula Services and Placenta Encapsulation

About

AREAS SERVED: Tucson, AZ

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  (520) 838-1089

Email:  EvaJOwen@gmail.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: While I don’t have much experience with pregnant women or babies, I was a caregiver for my grandmother for a total of four years and was with her into her last hours of life. I feel that being my grandmother’s caregiver taught me patience, compassion, and how to be selfless.

What led you to become a Doula?: After hearing mine and my sibling’s birth stories and then realizing that, for the time, they were uncommon birth stories I became fascinated by how my mom choose to birth us. However it wasn’t until the birth of my nephew in 2010 that introduced me to what a doula was and since then it is a career I’ve always kept in the back of my mind.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

My friends say that I am kindhearted, funny, committed, and extremely loyal.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. Friends and family tend to be a great resource.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I think how lucky they are that they get to experience such an incredible life changing experience.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Empowerment! The best gift I can give a new mom is the gift of being in control of her own body and calling the shots on the type of birth she chooses to have.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I love Disney most movies as well as different comedies. As for TV shows I love Bob’s Burgers, Sherlock, The Office, Archer, Dr. Who, Downton Abbey, The Goldberg’s, and many many more.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Disneyland or Cannon Beach, Oregon

What is your favorite food?: Breakfast food is the best.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Playing board games with friends/family

Who lives in your house?: My husband (Sean), my two dogs (Peach and Daisy), and my four cats (Thom, Penny, Runty, and Zelda).