Felicia Kelly

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified Infant Feeding Specialist, Pre-Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Sacral Birth Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula, Postpartum Doula & Infant Care Doula, Placenta Specialist, Infant Feeding Specialist

About

AREAS SERVED: Fayetteville, Southern Pines, Raleigh, Cary, Chapel Hill, and immediate surrounding areas of North Carolina

CONTACT INFO:

Email:
feliciakelly@sacralbirthservices.com

Phone:
(910) 751-2514

Website:
http://www.sacralbirthservices.com

Facebook Page:
http://www.facebook.com/sacralbirthservices.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have the ability to connect with people regardless of backgrounds or current life situations. My compassionate and empathetic nature allows me to listen without judgment. The knowledge and patience that I've gained in my years as a mother has given me an excellent basis for postpartum work. Add to these things, the extensive and full-spectrum training through ProDoula has given me the ability to support any client in any situation.

What led you to become a Doula?: I became interested in birth work through my own pregnancies. I wanted to be able to empower and uplift birthing people and their families in a way that I was yearning for.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

People have said that I am compassionate, kind, caring, inspirational, and thoughtful.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I love the classics such as Penny Simkin and Ina May Gaskin but I also enjoy reading the new and current research as things are always changing.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Usually my first thought when I see a pregnant person, I wonder how far along they are. When I see a new baby, my first thoughts are usually internal squeals of glee at the new baby but I immediately then turn to the parents to see how they seem to be.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: I feel the best gift I can give to new parents is whatever they need in that moment. If they need an ear to listen, I am able. If they need a nap, an unbiased opinion, or even just a few minutes to breathe, I am there to help in whatever capacity they need.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I enjoy quite a few tv shows such as Scandal, How To Get Away With Murder, Blindspot, Shameless, and Colony.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: I love the mountains and especially areas in the PNW.

What is your favorite food?: I love sushi, or a good salad full of veggies and goodies, but I also adore a big plate full of traditional German food just like my Oma makes.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I love to spend a day off without rushing. I like to enjoy my morning coffee, cook breakfast with my family, spend some time outside in my garden or tending to my houseplants, and enjoy where the day leads.

Who lives in your house?: My fiancé and I have 4 children all together, two of whom live outside of the home for part of the year. We have two preteen girls and two boys, aged 10 and 18 months. We also have two cats, a Great Dane, and a rabbit.