Gillian Foreman

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Labor, Pre-CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Modern Breastfeeding + Education

SERVICES PROVIDED: Private + Group Childbirth Education, Birth Doula Services, Breastfeeding Support + Education, Postpartum Group Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Great Cincinnati Area, Dayton, and North Kentucky

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  214.208.5535

Email: Gillian@modernbfed.com

Website:  www.ModernBreastfeedingEducation.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: My past life was as an engineer turned Interior Architect, such an obvious, common story, I know. I enjoy bringing those analytical tools, a love of excel, and the ability to explain how and why things work into my doula and lactation work. I have graduated with my Masters in Health & Wellness, with a specialization in Lactation, and be taking the board exam to be a lactation consultant this fall!

What led you to become a Doula?: Short version: I had a child. Full story: I was immediately struck by the intense need to absorb as much information as I could when I became pregnant. By the time I delivered it had been a full journey for me, something that showed me what education and support could look like for families. I want to be a part of that process, helping families experience the same in a supportive environment!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Energetic, positive, a good teacher, can remember odd facts and details, people-person, outgoing.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Kellymom.com, evidencebasedbirth.com, The Birth Partner, Breastfeeding Made Simple.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I want to make sure she’s getting the questions she needs answered and has a provider she truly trusts!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Unconditional support, even when plans change.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: My husband and I just finished House of Cards and loved it, but I love shows once I can binge watch them on Netflix or Hulu. Oddly enough, for movies my favorites are thriller/horror movies or period pieces.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Somewhere tropical, and all inclusive.

What is your favorite food?: Mexican food!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: With my husband and kiddos – usually out of the house.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and best friend, the best support system I have, my two little boys, Jude & Ewan, aged 7 and 4, and our au pair Deisy from Bogota, Columbia, who helps me live the on call life.