Jennifer Crawford

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Desert Birth & Wellness

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula

About

AREAS SERVED: Joshua Tree , CA Serving Morongo Basin, Coachella Valley & Surrounding Areas

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (760) 362-6101

Email: info@desertbirthwellness.com

Website: Desertbirthwellness.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: My first birth as a trained Doula was in 2002. From 2004-2007 I was an inpatient Lactation Consultant at Scripps Mercy Hospital in San Diego. In 2005/2006 I completed a midwifery internship in Tijuana, Mexico. The most memorable experience was catching a baby while wearing my toddler on my back. Over the years I've found my calling is NOT to be a midwife as I previously thought but to provide continuous support to families throughout labor as a doula. As a mother of 5, every birth for me was different. I'm not the doula I was in 2002. Both personal and professional experience has taught me so much benefitting my clients today.

What led you to become a Doula?: My original goal was to work in Lactation. When I started that journey I met some amazing doulas who fascinated me! This was in 2001 and I had never heard of a doula before. I recently had my second baby and that birth was very different from my first but I never felt fully supported by my birth choices. I wanted to support families. I wanted to provide options. I wanted to be a doula!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

A calming presence is something I hear often. Which is funny to me because I feel as though deep down I’m an anxious person. I believe that is why I can easily relate to my clients. Birth is often scary to people. Birth is an everyday normal to me so I’m able to calm fears, talk and walk clients through the process from bereavement, preterm, multiples, inductions, medicated, unmedicated, scheduled and unplanned cesareans.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Birth Without Fear & Ina May's Guide to Childbirth

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I wonder if she has a doula supporting her

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Unconditional support

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Beaches

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Jamaica

What is your favorite food?: Cake!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I'm a huge fan of mini getaways. We are lucky to live only a few hours from Las Vegas, Big Bear, Los Angeles and San Diego not to mention Joshua Tree National Park in our own backyard! You'll often find me in one of those places enjoying time with my family and friends.

Who lives in your house?: Depending on the day it can be a houseful! We're a blended family. My husband and I combined have 6 girls. 2 are adults who visit often, 3 who go back and forth between their fathers house and ours and the youngest who is with us full time. We also have 1 gentle giant doberman and an adorable grey cat who often thinks she's a dog.