Jennifer Whelan

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: ProDoula CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Mother's Little Helper Postpartum Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula

About

AREAS SERVED: Maryland, Washington DC, Northern Virginia

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (240) 731-6807

Email: jenniferwhln@gmail.com

Website: https://www.motherslittlehelper.mom

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have acted as the "unofficial" postpartum doula for multiple family members. I have always loved babies and helping care for them from a very young age.

What led you to become a Doula?: When I was a new mother, I had my mother come help for two weeks and then I was on my own. The more I have learned about other cultures and their attitudes towards the postpartum mother, I see how the US is sorely lacking in assistance toward helping new mothers adjust to life with a newborn. Being a postpartum doula allows me to help fill this void. And as I have said, I adore babies! And even more, I love working with new mothers and helping them gain confidence as they transition to their role as a mom (or mom of now two or more children). I consider it an honor to be invited into their lives at such a vulnerable moment and help them with whatever they might need to make their journey a little easier.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I am compassionate, organized, knowledgeable, detail-oriented, and very dedicated to my work.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Askdrsears.com, kellymom.com, zerotothree.org, parents.com

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I am super excited for them - they are about to embark on one of the most crazy, inspiring, exhausting, fun, once-in-a-lifetime experiences they will ever have.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The confidence to know that she is doing a great job as a mom.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Laverne and Shirley

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Tie between Dublin, Ireland and Cape May, New Jersey

What is your favorite food?: Any baked good

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Knitting, baking, or running.

Who lives in your house?: My husband, TJ, my two sons, (when the older one is home from college) and my dog, Honey.