Jordan Joanisse

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: ReDefine Maternal and Family Support

SERVICES PROVIDED: Placenta Encapsulation and Labor and Postpartum Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Calgary, Okotoks, Strathmore, High River, Black Diamond, Turner Valley, Chestemere, Airdrie

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  (403) 614-1948

Email:  info@redefinesupport.ca

Website:  www.redefinesupport.ca

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Birth and Postpartum Doula for over 7 years Lactation Educator for 2 years Birthing From Within Prenatal Instructor and Parent Preparation Educator Placenta Specialist-in-training

What led you to become a Doula?: From growing up as the daughter of a hockey professional, I watched many players wives and my mother included, go through much of their pregnancies, labours, births and the postpartum period without their husbands being there for support. I grew up watching how the community of women and family would have to rally together to make sure that the pregnant, labouring or new mom was properly supported.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

People say I have a calming presence, knowledgable, unbiased, friendly and comforting. Ive also been told I have a warm smile and a great laugh.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Spinning Babies, Made by Momma, Baby Box Co., ReDefine Maternal and Family Support, La Leche League, Miles Circuit

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I think about how strong they are and how excited they must be, and I really want to be there to help make their journey easier.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Reassurance, a listening ear, sleep

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Big Bang Theory

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Nelson British Columbia

What is your favorite food?: Schnitzel

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: With my husband, with no schedule, so that we can see where the day takes us.

Who lives in your house?: My Husband, daughter, son, dog and myself