Joshua Maze

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: N/A

SERVICES PROVIDED: postpartum and infant care, light housework

About

AREAS SERVED: Greater Indianapolis Area, IN

CONTACT INFO:

Email: mazej26@gmail.com

Phone: (609) 515-3105

Website: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joshuamazeindy/

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I graduated with a Bachelor of Social Work from Ball State University in 2010. This laid the foundation for my heart of service to others and gave me my initial training in active listening, therapeutic interviewing and networking with other agencies / providers. I have experience with life coaching, having been trained in Nature Connected Coaching by Earth Based Institute. I currently volunteer with Postpartum Support International as their Specialized Coordinator for Dads.

What led you to become a Doula?: I became interested in postpartum doula work after noticing what I see as a lack of resources for new dads, especially those men experiencing symptoms of postpartum depression and anxiety. I believe in a whole family approach to postpartum doula support and believe that all caregivers and family members should be involved in this new chapter. This is such an important change in family's lives and I want to be a support as they enter this new world.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Friends and colleagues would say I am caring, thoughtful, and a good listener.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?:

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: A mix of awe for the new life and opportunity for the family, combined with the understanding that this can be a scary time for new families. I hope that they are getting the family support and mental health support to enter this new chapter.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Helping them to understand that they are not alone. This can be a scary time, especially for first time parents. Whether it is worry over bonding and feeding, or more pressing mental health concerns, the best gift I can offer is the support and understanding and assistance where needed.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Sci-fi shows or Food Network

What is your favorite place to vacation?:

What is your favorite food?: Thai ranks up there

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Spending time with my family, preferably at a local nature park

Who lives in your house?: my wife and daughter.