Julie Hall

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Julie Hall Labor Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Kansas City Area

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  801-647-7422

Email:  Halls4him@gmail.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have given birth 5 times. I went through an extremely stressful and dangerous birth with my youngest child. I watched my sister give birth and I also watched my best friend give birth, one of my kids had cancer and I've dealt with a lot of stressful situations with her, I can keep a cool head because of it.

What led you to become a Doula?: I had always been jealous that my husband was able to watch all our children be born. I talked about it with my best friend enough that she told me I could watch her have her baby. I LOVED it!!! I was on a high for three days after that experience. It made me want to do if for a job!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I’m brave, caring, level-headed, easy to talk to, approachable, mellow, able to handle huge amounts of stress and hard working.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I get a lot of advice from other moms..I really liked "My Pregnancy Week by Week" when I was pregnant with my first child. I also liked a show called "My Birth Day" or something like that, I can't remember the exact name ( it was a reality show about the birth of their child)

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Warm fuzzy thoughts, what a joy they are/will be experiencing - maybe my husband and I shouldn't be done having kids (LOL).

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Encouragement, that they CAN do this, they are brave and they are strong.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I loved Parenthood and my current obsession is This is Us.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: If money wasn't an issue, we would travel the world...But since it is (Ha Ha), we love to make it to the ocean whenever we are able to. We have been to it in Hawaii, BC, Florida and Texas. I also went to Peru and New Zealand (without my hubs) and loved it! I love to travel, so its hard to say a favorite.

What is your favorite food?: Umm, I love food. All food. But if I had to pick, I would say Mongolian Buffets.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Read and watch a movie with the family.

Who lives in your house?: Myself, my husband (Randy), our kids--ages 13, 10, 8, 6 and 4 and we also have a dog (Lasso)