Katie Brenner

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care, Childbirth Educator, Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist, Pre-Certified Infant Feeding Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Doulas of Cincinnati, LLC

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor & Postpartum and Infant Care Doula Service and Placenta Encapsulation.

About

AREAS SERVED: Greater Cincinnati including: Southeast Indiana, Northern Kentucky, and Southern Dayton Metro Area

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (513) 655-7941

Email:  katie@doulasofcincinnati.com

Website:  www.doulasofcincinnati.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have a background in Women’s Studies, and spent over 10 years working in social work. I also hold a Master’s of Fine Arts in Photography and have spent over 20 years photographing people. Really, all of these experiences, building relationships and helping others see and develop their confidence in themselves has proved to be invaluable.

What led you to become a Doula?: After giving birth I realized that I had been on the path to birth work many years ago, but didn’t know how to get there. I had all the pieces, but becoming a mother helped me connect them and start the journey.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Positive, Dedicated, Knowledgeable, a Teacher and Mentor, Kind, Genuine, Energetic

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: The Birth Partner, Breastfeeding Made Simple, PubMed, ACOG, AAP (and of course Doulas of Cincinnati!)

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Becoming and being a parent is a transformational journey. I'm excited for them. They may be having a fantastic day, or they may be feeling less confident than usual. I offer a smile, and acknowledge their hard work.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Helping her find and develop her confidence in herself and her family, with non-judgemental, unbiased and continuous support for her choices.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Downton Abbey. Or as my husband puts it: ‘she’s a sucker for any period piece that involves costumes, accents and romance.’

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Camden, Maine and surrounding coast.

What is your favorite food?: This one is hard because I love food and I love to cook. Today I’ll say Indian because it’s fresh on my tongue.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: On a family adventure at the zoo or the park, playing outside.

Who lives in your house?: Me, my Husband (best friend), our two sons, an old cat, and two laying hens in the back yard.