Katie Piepiora

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: TBD

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula Care

About

AREAS SERVED: Boston area and South Shore Massachusetts

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  508-272-8177

Email:  katielpowell@gmail.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Certified Yoga Teacher (200-hr); Certified Prenatal Yoga Teacher; Mom of two boys!

What led you to become a Doula?: Teaching pre and postnatal yoga introduced me to so many women looking for advice, physical and emotional support and just someone to talk to who can act as a sounding board. Becoming a postpartum doula felt like a natural next step in being there for other women who are in need of assistance in this next stage of their life.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

People tell me that I am easy to talk to, a great listener and a gentle and caring soul.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: • Local support and mom groups that you can identify with • Pre and postnatal yoga classes • Breastfeeding support groups - South Shore Hospital has an amazing group that meets every Monday, Wednesday and Friday

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: You are about to experience the most wonderful and rewarding job of your life. It can be incredibly hard and exhausting, but nothing compares to the love you experience when you bring a child into this world.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Support without judgement

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I have a complete addiction to all things HGTV, especially Chip and Joanna Gaines

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Treasure Beach, Jamaica. A tiny fishing village on the South Coast of the island. I’ve been vacationing there since I was a little girl and I consider it my home away from home.

What is your favorite food?: How can I choose just one? I love sushi, Thai and anything that’s spent all day in a crock pot.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Go to a yoga class or take a nice walk outside with my family – there are so many beautiful places to walk/hike on the south shore – a delicious lunch out somewhere, maybe a trip to the beach in the afternoon during the summer months, and a nice glass of wine on the couch to end the day.

Who lives in your house?: My husband Paul, sons Taylor & Grady and dog Manny.