Kelsey Reilly

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care, Pre-Certified Infant Feeding Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Oak City Doula Care

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula & Postpartum & Infant Care Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Raleigh, Cary, Durham, Garner, Wake Forest, Chapel Hill, Knightdale, Apex, Holly Springs, Fuquay-Varina

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (619) 322-3882

Email: info@oakcitydoulacare.com

Websiteoakcitydoulacare.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I serve on the Board of Directors of Triangle Area Parenting Support, helping new parents by connecting them to peer-based support groups, information, and resources as they transition to parenthood with 4-16wk olds, and 5-12mo olds.

What led you to become a Doula?: My first niece was born when I was 11, and since then I new I wanted to have a family of my own, babysit, work with babies...you name it! I didn't realize in what capacity until 2017. The concept of supporting women and families as they bring life into this world is invaluable! Knowing this is something I could have had access to myself makes me want to make it even more accessible to others.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

“Can you move in?”

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I really like Zero To Five by Tracey Cutchlow because it covers such a wide variety of topics with parenting tips based on science.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Excitement, apprehension, hopeful, love, tenderness.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Non-judgmental support. There's nothing like feeling validated during one of the most vulnerable times of your life.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: The Princess Bride...I can quote the whole thing...I'm only a little ashamed. ;)

What is your favorite place to vacation?: San Diego or Disneyland!

What is your favorite food?: I can eat pizza pretty much any time any day.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I would be sitting under a canopy on the beach with a mimosa in-hand, listening to the waves and watching my daughter play in the sand with her grandparents.

Who lives in your house?: My family and I share a home with our four cats.