Kim Young

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Beyond Baby Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula

About

AREAS SERVED: Tucson and surrounding areas

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (520) 603-6666

Email: beyondbabyaz@gmail.com

Website: (coming soon) www.beyondbabyaz.com

 

 

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have 3 children of my own and have supported several friends throughout their pregnancies and postpartum period. I have worked in the mental health field for over 10 years and specialize in perinatal mood disorders and working directly with pregnant and postpartum women who have serious mentally ill diagnoses.

What led you to become a Doula?: After having my own children and experiencing the excitements, fears and overwhelming mixed feelings of pregnancy, the birth process and postpartum period, I knew this was what I was meant to do. I have a passion for helping others, guiding parents to be confident and successful during one of the most stressful times in their lives.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I have a calm, positive and direct approach with my clients. I am honest, thoughtful, resourceful, and nurturing with parents and their children.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: ProDoula support groups, Postpartum Support International and local doulas in my area.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Most of the time I think they are beautiful souls that are blessed to experience motherhood. Sometimes I'm a little envious of them because I loved being pregnant and truly enjoyed the new adventure of being a mom. Other times I feel for them and don't wish to experience the uncomfortableness of pregnancy and the exhausting days of having a newborn again!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Honesty and support. I feel being open about real life experiences and expectations is the most valuable tool new moms can use.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: All of the Chicago shows (Fire, Med, PD), This is Us, The Night Shift and Sons of Anarchy.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: The mountains. I love to camp and be in the cool weather with beautiful surroundings and the smell of fresh, clean air.

What is your favorite food?: Pizza and pretty much anything Mexican.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Doing something fun with my family like swimming, baking, craft projects and sometimes Nothing! My life is so busy that some days I like to just veg with my kids.

Who lives in your house?: My husband of 8+ years Brent, my daughter Brooklynn (7), my daughter Madi (5) and my son Jake (2)