Laura Rodenbusch

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum, Pre-Certified Infant Feeding Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: n/a

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula

About

AREAS SERVED: Hartford County, Central Connecticut

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (860) 818-6932

Email: Laura.rodenbusch@gmail.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have birthed three children and I have a firm understanding of the birth process and stages of labor. I also have extensive experience with breastfeeding and helping moms with proper latch, positioning and all things breastmilk related!

What led you to become a Doula?: I've always been fascinated with pregnancy, childbirth and newborns. I worked intimately with many families over the past twenty years as a nanny and newborn consultant. My passion for birth work intensified with each of my pregnancies and I am thrilled and passionate about supporting moms, their partners and their babies through their birthing and postpartum experience.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

*Compassionate
*Empathetic
*Good listener
*Easy to talk to

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: The Birth Book by Dr. Sears, The Baby Book by Dr. Sears, Kellymom.com (all things related to breastfeeding), The Happiest Baby on the Block by Dr. Harvey Karp

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I've always been drawn to pregnant women and I am a baby magnet! I hope that she has a wonderful support system around her and I empathize with the exhaustion she may be feeling as well as all the emotions that come with pregnancy and a new baby!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: In addition to non judgmental support and soothing techniques for baby, I would bring delicious food to her and her family and a copy of The Happiest Baby on the Block!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: This is Us, Downton Abbey

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Harvey's Beach in Old Saybrook and Germany. My husband is from Germany and I started my career caring for babies while living there for 5 years. I am now fluent in German.

What is your favorite food?: Avocados and chocolate (not together!)

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I love to spend time to myself with a good book and our two rescue kitties. I am most often with my sweet, supportive family playing games, going on walks to the beach or just playing in the garden. Life is good!

Who lives in your house?: I live with my wonderful husband of 18 years and our three sweet little ones ages 9, 6 and 3. And of course the kitties and a beta fish. A full house indeed!