Laura Wanamaker

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Postpartum & Infant Care, Pre-Certified Infant Feeding Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Laura Wanamaker Doulas

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Rockland County & Westchester County, New York, Bergen County, New Jersey

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  845-536-2163

Email:  ldwanamaker@verizon.net

Website:  Laurawanamakerdoulas.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Mother of 3, ages 22,20 &18. I found having my first baby overwhelming. Confidence improved with each baby but so did the exhaustion. Many woman go back to a full time out of the home job at the end of maternity leave. I did also, so I truly “get it.” I was a nanny for 2 1/2 years with incredibly fun girls ages 2 and 4. I was a nanny for one year for a little boy from age 1-2. Additionally, I was a short notice fill in nanny for children ages 4 weeks-6 years old for multiple families.

What led you to become a Doula?: I have always naturally been drawn to infants and little ones. I am fascinated by their developing personalities and curiosity. I've worked in the private sector and been a stay at home mom. In a career look back I would have owned a preschool or been a children's librarian.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Nurturing, honest and reliable.  I have a gift of diffusing situations with relative calmness. Fun-I can whole heartedly laugh at myself as much as others will laugh at me.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: The internet, no one particular source. Anything to be researched is right at your fingertips.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I am overwhelmed and slightly emotional when I see a new little life. I believe it should be such a beautiful time in parents’ lives.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Reassurance to help her trust her instincts and follow through with her plans.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: The Office- hands down. I am also somewhat of a history geek so Smithsonian, History Channel and Nat Geo are my favorites when I actually make the time to watch TV.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Cape Cod. That’s my memories of summer vacations with my husband and our kids. Where else can you find that beauty, nature, serenity AND American history .

What is your favorite food?: Really, really good pizza and bread.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Boring as it sounds, getting extra sleep. I do NOT want to see the sunrise. Lunch with my girlfriends who I don't see enough. Hearing all three of my kids voices and not communicating through text acronyms and emoji’s. Wine and appetizers watching the setting sun at dusk turning into early evening- my favorite time of day.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and I are soon to be empty nesters as we send off our youngest in the fall of 2017 to college. I must however include our 13 year old tabby, Bandit who has been the highest maintenance of all.