Lauren Hodson

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Root To Rise Birth LLC

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Support, Postpartum Support, Childbirth Education

About

AREAS SERVED: Metro Detroit, Michigan

CONTACT INFO:

Email:
roottorisebirth@gmail.com

Phone:
(248) 850-9914

Website:
http://www.rtrbirth.com

Facebook Page:
http://www.facebook.com/roottorisebirth.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I am a certified labor doula, and postpartum doula. I also work very closely with. the recovery community, LGBTQ community, and work on a grant for accessible HIV treatment. I am passionate about people having the access, and advocating for themselves what they need when it comes to their health.

What led you to become a Doula?: After having my own birth experience with my son nine years ago, I knew there was something more. It wasn't atraumatic birth experience, I just felt like a patient and that there was something wrong with me, when I instinctively knew there wasn't. I am also very fascinated with pregnancy and the birth process.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

“You are so easy to talk to. ” “You are pragmatic and down to earth. I like that. ”
“You are a great listener, and can tell you really care.” “Thank you for believing in me.”
You are goal oriented and it amazes me with all the things you accomplish everyday. ”
“You have so much energy, can I have some”?
“Thank you for

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Local birth circles and meet ups. I believe its good to get to know your community, and building a support system that you can reach out to at any point.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I get excited for them to have their journey, and experiences all the things of pregnancy, birth, and postpartum. I also look and see a huge transition that is about to take place, and tons of comfortable and also uncomfortable growth. I am excited for them to have those experiences.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: validation.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: National Geographic, Pitbulls and Parolees

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Alaska, Iceland, brazil, and Greece. are on my list of places to visit.

What is your favorite food?: Sushi

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Wake up drink coffee and read outside, go to Syphus training and kill a workout with my Syphus community, come home snuggle with my rescue pup, take him for a walk, catch up with a couple of friends on the phone while sitting in the sun, go grocery shopping and make a yummy meal, work on business, do some yoga, go down to lake. Hang out with my partner, son and dog and be goofy with them in the backyard.

Who lives in your house?: Partner - Chris, Son - Camron (9,) Dog - Cosmo