Lauren Mackey

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Heartland Doulas

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula, Placenta Encapsulation

About

AREAS SERVED: Central Illinois (Peoria, Bloomington-Normal, Pekin, Galesburg, Springfield, Champaign).

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  (309)256-6213

Email:  lauren@HeartlandDoulas.com

Website:  HeartlandDoulas.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have always loved working with people. When I was 17, I spent a year doing volunteer work all over Africa. I worked with children in schools raising awareness on HIV/AIDs, and teaching about self esteem and making good choices. It was one of the most amazing years of my life. I believe this experience at a young age really taught me how powerful it is to connect with and support people. As a doula, I work to offer unbiased and nonjudgmental support while connecting and attuning with my clients and their needs.

What led you to become a Doula?: The birth of my daughter was a really beautiful and empowering experience for me. I had really great support. For the first three months of my daughters life, I had the highest self esteem I have ever had! I want to help other women feel that kind of support and be empowered by their pregnancies and birth!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I am often told that I am a really positive person, that I am great listener, and a really hard worker.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Heartland Doulas has some really great Facebook groups- Heartland Expectant Parents, Heartland Bottle Feeding Support, Heartland Working Moms, Heartland Parenting. Other parents are great resources!

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: How exciting! I just want to chat about how she is doing/ feeling/ thinking and support her as she journeys through the adventure that is pregnancy!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: A hand to hold and gentle, encouraging words as she taps into her own strength, A listening ear, Support without judgment as she navigates pregnancy, birth, and parenthood.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I love 90s tv! Roseanne, Fresh Prince of Bel Air, Seinfeld.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: I love the outdoors. My favorite getaways involve being immersed in nature and unplugged from technology.

What is your favorite food?: I feel like this changes all the time. Right now? Burritos!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: With my family. Being outside, relaxing, it doesn't really matter what we do.

Who lives in your house?: My husband of 7 years, Chris. My 2 year old daughter, Quinn. And our sweet dog, Ella.