Lauren Walker

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified Labor Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Ardyce Blooms

SERVICES PROVIDED: Birth Doula, Birth Photographer, Latch Assessments

About

AREAS SERVED: Kearney, Nebraska

CONTACT INFO:

Email: ardyceblooms@gmail.com

Phone: (308) 440-1315

Website: https://www.ardyceblooms.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ardyceblooms/

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Taking care of others and teaching is something I have always enjoyed. Since 2015 I have been attending births part-time. I have experienced a variety of birth now from planned c-sections to homebirth. I am a Certified Lactation Counselor and can help with latch right away and even do home visits to asses babies latch. I also can help preserve the memory of your birth by photographing your journey.

What led you to become a Doula?: Taking a development class in college I had a professor who educated me about birth and breastfeeding. She even invited a woman to tell us a radical birth story. I had never heard anything like it and it was so different from what I had seen on tv. It started a passion in me. I could not stop reading about birth and breastfeeding after that. I was so excited that a doula was a job opportunity. I did not know that it existed until a while after her class. I was never interested in being a nurse or midwife but a doula is just the perfect fit for me.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Many have said that at a birth I have a quiet loving energy. They say I am a good teacher and take good care of those around me.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I love evidenced-based birth. I also love Mama Natural's Guide to Childbirth.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?:

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Doing my job well, supporting them during their labor. I also love to help support them in reaching their own breastfeeding goals.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?:

What is your favorite place to vacation?:

What is your favorite food?:

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I love a good walk, coffee and some time with friends and family.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and my two-year-old son.