Liza Blake

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Labor & Postpartum & Infant Care Doula, Certified Childbirth Educator

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Mountain West Doulas

SERVICES PROVIDED: Childbirth and Postpartum Education, Labor Support, Postpartum Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Utah - Davis, Tooele, and Salt Lake counties

CONTACT INFO:

Email: liza@mountainwestdoulas.com

Phone: (385) 439-0110

Website:

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/mountainwestdoulas/

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: My schooling is in Information Systems and Accounting with many business classes sprinkled throughout. I took classes on everything from my major to managing people and time. I find that many of the people skills I developed, combined with the goal-focused techniques that I've learned, are a great resource for growing families.

What led you to become a Doula?: With so many younger siblings, I grew up around babies. Add to that being in a military family and we always had pregnant couples and families around. As I became an adult, I realized the great service provided by a good support system and what a big difference an attentive professional resource with you from start to finish can make.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Good listener, knowledgeable, supportive, compassionate

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Doulas are my number one favorite resource! Other great resources include providers, IBCLCs, and specialists. As far as readable resources, I've found many books enjoyable and enlightening and it really depends on the situation! I particularly love Guilt-Free Bottlefeeding.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Wow - what an opportunity and responsibility! And then I wonder if she's getting enough support from friends and family.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Somewhere they can just be themselves, to live in the moment and accept their current feelings, struggles, and joys.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Firefly - You can't take the sky from me.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Interior Alaska

What is your favorite food?: Anything with dark chocolate

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Sewing and crafting, or showing my creations off at a convention where I can cosplay. If creating, then also watching my favorite YouTubers.

Who lives in your house?: I live with my wonderful husband.