Maia Schaberg

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Maia Schaberg Labor Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Traverse City, Michigan and the surrounding area

CONTACT INFO:

Email:  maiaschaberg@gmail.com

Phone:  (360) 298-6000

Websitehttp://www.maiaschaberg.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: My professional training in dance, including anatomy and the fundamentals of movement, helps me understand the process that every muscle, bone, and ligament journeys through during a birth. My years of nannying for infants helped solidify my ability to breathe in the present moment and respond to whatever arises with peace, non-judgement, and creativity.

What led you to become a Doula?: I grew up chatting about birth around the dinner table with my mother who was a Licensed Midwife. I was fascinated by her stories and even got to attend two births with her as a teenager. When I grew up I knew I needed to help women, just as my mom did, and am so glad to have found doula work. When I am supporting a woman through her labor and birth I feel like all my favorite parts of me get to shine brilliantly.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

“Maia’s soothing touch and presence was perfectly paired with her grounding and meditative guidance. Best of all perhaps is that when things progressed in a way we hadn’t hoped for, she remained supportive without judgment or expectation.”

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Spinning Babies, Evidence Based Birth, Birthing From Withn, and The Continuum Concept.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I hope with all of my heart that she is in touch with her innate strength, autonomy, and voice, and that she is being cared for and nurtured by her community in a deeply sacred way.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Focused attention, deep empathy, and validation for whatever she is experiencing.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Amelie

What is your favorite place to vacation?: San Juan Islands

What is your favorite food?: Kale salad

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Hiking, dancing, and yoga.

Who lives in your house?: My sweet partner James and our energetic toddler Juniper.