Maresi Brown

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Childbirth Educator

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: St Pete Birth Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Childbirth Educator

About

AREAS SERVED: St Petersburg, Largo, Clearwater

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (727) 239-5129

Email: maresidoula@gmail.com

Website: http://stpetebirthdoula.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have attended all sorts of births in my work as a Doula - but I still see each birth as a unique beginning for a family! I have taught in many settings over the years and look forward to bringing my skills as a teacher into alignment with my work as a Doula through Childbirth Education Classes.

What led you to become a Doula?: I became interested in birth work after seeing the difference having a doula made in my birth experience with my second child.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Other people say I am compassionate, knowledgeable, and a gifted educator.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: My go-to pregnancy resources are The Birth Partner and Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn. For parenting help I always recommend Your Baby & Child: From Birth to Age Five.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I first think about how exciting it is for a family to begin and change with a new baby. I hope that the pregnant person feels supported in all their choices, and that they are equipped with the necessary resources to meet their needs, whether socioeconomically, physically, or emotionally based.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The best gift I can give a new parent is to listen and support their choices - to help them feel validated and confident as they move into this new phase of life.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: TV: The West Wing, Movie: The Black Stallion

What is your favorite place to vacation?: On a dock, by a cool lake, on a warm sunny summer day

What is your favorite food?: My favorite food is my aunt's tomato sauce poured over quality pasta.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: My perfect day off would begin with a great breakfast and coffee, followed by some games with my kids, and then during the youngest one's nap time I'd love to work on my latest knitting project while binge-watching a few episodes of something on Netflix. Then I'd enjoy a healthy and tasty meal (that hopefully someone else has cooked!) before a shower and early bedtime.

Who lives in your house?: I live with my husband Timon (married in 2001), son Henry (born 2004), daughter Maria (born 2008), and son William (born 2015).