Mary Pope

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Mary Pope – Labor Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: 40 mile radius from Smithville Missouri – Saint Joseph MO (North), Overland Park KS (South), Richmond MO (East), Atchison KS (West)

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (816)592-9368

Email:  marypopelabordoula@gmail.com

Website:  marypopelabordoula.wordpress.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I’ve always been the “go to” person when my friends and family needed guidance or support! I’ve never claimed to have all the answers, but I’m good at supporting those around me while we look at options together and what the best solution for each situation would be.

What led you to become a Doula?: When I was pregnant with my oldest son, I had very little support. My husband was supportive, but not in a way that another woman could be! And once I found myself in labor, I felt so very alone. I remember saying “I’d pay someone to support me! Is that even a thing?!” Apparently, it is – we’re called Doulas! From that moment on, I had a desire to be that person for other women.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I am a fun and positive person to be around, that I’m compassionate and caring, a calm presence under pressure, and that I’m always bringing food to people!

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I love Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth! Such a wealth of wisdom that really gives you a sense of awe and wonder of what our bodies are capable of! I also refer to the Sears Parenting Library often.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: “She’s so beautiful!!” and “I wonder if she feels supported and appreciated”

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: To make it so she has a calm atmosphere to bond with her baby, the chance to eat a good meal and take a long hot shower!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I’m currently obsessing over Game of Thrones.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: In the summer, Northwestern Ontario! It’s where I grew up and Canadian summers are perfect. In the winter, Jamaica!

What is your favorite food?: Indian, Thai or Greek – don’t make me choose!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Exploring a museum or hiking trail, reading an old favorite book, or baking!

Who lives in your house?: My husband, Mike (we’ve been married for 5 years), our 2 sons, Alexander (4) and Asher (2), and a very self-entitled, middle-aged cat who answers to “Zoe”.