Meg Smith

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Inner Strength Doula Services.

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Services and Childbirth Education Classes

About

AREAS SERVED: Naperville, Aurora, Bolingbrook, Plainfield, Downers Grove, Lisle, Winfield

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  630-234-5534

Email:  meg@innerstrengthdoula.org

Website:  www.innerstrengthdoula.org

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have been a Birth Doula for 8 years and have assisted 180 families!

What led you to become a Doula?: I have two children of my own. And when I saw my nephew be born, it was like a light bulb went off! I wanted to work in the birth field! My background is in social work, so the medical aspect of birth work didn't appeal to me. I researched labor support and within 6 months, I started my company,developed my website, got certified and began taking on clients!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

“Your support and calming, positive presence were such an important part of BOTH of our children’s births!” ~The Jennings Family

“I cant say enough thank-you’s for all of your love, support and encouragement during my pregnancy and labor. You are truly meant to be helping women.” ~Kim P.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I truly enjoy meeting with other Birth Professionals (chiropractors, Midwives, other Doulas, Yoga Instructors, etc). I feel that I learn new techniques, terminology and recommended reading and research.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: How much her life is about to change! Becoming a mother is a process. In labor, women need to find their inner strength as they birth their babies. And some women struggle as they navigate being a new Mom. I feel that to truly support women, I would like to provide postpartum support as well.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Unconditional, non-judgemental support.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I love Empire! I also enjoy watching game shows with my family. Our new favorite is The Wall.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: We have a family condo in Siesta Key Florida. It is like heaven on earth! And it sounds great right now as we are freezing in Chicago!

What is your favorite food?: My homemade pasta sauce and meatballs!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Relaxing and recharging with my family. My husband and I are lucky enough to have our parents, sister and their familes close by. We are always getting together and laughing

Who lives in your house?: My super supportive husband of 20 years, Kris, our 17 year old kind and helpful son Alex, our athletic and silly daughter, Julia who is 13 and of course our pup Stewy.