Megan Day

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Any Day Now Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: South Dallas/Fort Worth

CONTACT INFO:

Email:  anydaynowdoula@gmail.com

Phone:  801-673-7096

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have a degree in Sociocultural Anthropology; I focused my study on women’s roles in various cultures. I am a mother of 3.

What led you to become a Doula?: I have always had an interest in childbirth, especially how it is done around the world. I developed a passion for this work after my three children were born. My first two births left me feeling disappointed in my experience. I did a lot of research to prepare for my third and I hired a doula. Though it ended in an emergency c-section it ended up being a much more rewarding experience. I want to enable women to feel empowered by their birth, to ensure they have the support and information they need so they can ultimately look back without regret and with satisfaction.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I’ve been told that I am “a calm presence” and that I am “good at assessing the needs of others and jumping to action to help.” I have also been told that I am empathetic and good at communicating helpful information.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, The Birth Partner, Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I hope they realize through the physical discomfort of pregnancy and the many demands of a newborn the great importance of their role as a mother.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Support, information, and a calm presence.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: I usually always have a couple shows going on Netflix at a time, one I watch solo and one with my husband. Currently, it’s Revenge and Supernatural. I also love more period shows like Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Our most common vacation is up to Utah to visit my family. My girls get to play with cousins and I get to see my parents and siblings. I also love a vacation where I can sit on the beach with my husband and read a book.

What is your favorite food?: I love cereal. I also have quite a sweet tooth, so anything chocolate.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I enjoy any fun outing with my family.

Who lives in your house?: My husband, my three daughters ages 5, 3 and 1 and our dog.