Meghan Bowser-Taylor

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Family Doulas of Ottawa

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum and Infant Care Services, Labour Support and Childbirth Education Classes

About

AREAS SERVED: Ottawa, Ontario

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  613-700-9713

Email:  meghan@natalis.ca

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I am a certified labour doula through Childbirth International and have attended 13 births to date. I am a certified Childbirth Educator through CAPPA. I have two children of my own.

What led you to become a Doula?: A friend asked me to attend the birth of her son nine years ago and to act as her "doula" I had never even heard of a doula before! I attended the birth and it was an amazing experience and I felt really comfortable in the support role. After that I started researching doulas and discovered that people had made a career out of it. It is the only time in my professional life that I felt content and that I was making a difference.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

A few of my clients have described me as calm and a great emotional support. They said I.made them feel relaxed and safe during the labour and birth and that I was knowledgeable. On a personal note most of my friends describe me as kind, organized, laid back and passionate about the things that interest me.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: My favourite books are by Penny Simkin, Sheila Kitzinger, Barbara Harper, Ina May Gaskin and Dr. Sears. In my area there is the OCEA, Mothercraft, Parent Resource Center and The Ottawa Birth and Wellness Center to name a few.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Depending on the situation, I usually feel joy and excitement. Pregnancy is such an incredible journey. When I see a new mom I feel anticipation for all the milestones (and obstacles) she'll face as a parent and there is also a little nostalgia for when I was a new mom.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Resources and support.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Moulin Rouge and at the moment Downtown Abbey.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Fiji and Brussels are among my favourites.

What is your favorite food?: I love a good fish tacos and escargot.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Relaxing around the house or a day at the beach with my kids.

Who lives in your house?: My husband Astar, my daughter Theia (almost seven), my son Jackson (5 years old) and our two cats, George and Izzy.