Michelle Marie Sanford

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Postpartum Placenta Specialist, CD Postpartum & Infant Care, Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: LunaSol Doula, services affiliated with Green Bay Doulas

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum, & Infant Care Support; Placenta Encapsulation

About

AREAS SERVED: Brown County and within an hour radius

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (920) 530-8197

Email:    lunasoldoula2016@gmail.com

Website:   lunasoldoula.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I'm an educator and nurturer by nature--taught middle school Math (I love middle school students and math) for 9 years and now I'm an instructor at a local tech college where I help adult students get their GED. Growing up I experienced change a lot due to my family moving for my Dad's job (he was in the Air Force and then worked for the FAA)--I've moved 19 times so I'm no stranger to adapting to new surroundings and different types of people and personalities.

What led you to become a Doula?: My last pregnancy--my blessing from above since I became pregnant at age 37.5 and it had been 12 years since my last pregnancy plus a miscarriage 3 months before getting pregnant again. I wanted to find a way to mix my love of teaching, helping and supporting others, and family into a way to make a living. A doula seemed like the natural course of action and the right fit for me.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I’m a natural born teacher; You really love what you do–teach Math and others; You have a kind heart that is accepting of all types of people even when they may hurt you; I’m a good mother

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: What to Expect when Expecting--book & website & app, WedMD—online, WonderWeeks—app, Sprout Baby—app, Facebook Mommy groups, LLL, Baby Wearing International, KellyMom.com, The Baby Book

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Beautiful; Wonder and Awe; Miracle; Exhaustion; Trial and Error: One way is the not always right way for everyone

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Un-biased support and sharing what you love to do

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: My favorite type of tv shows are SyFy types or paranormal--if I pick one it would be Supernatural

What is your favorite place to vacation?: A Bed and Breakfast or anywhere with my family--love exploring new places with them.

What is your favorite food?: Mexican food

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Being outside in nature and doing something active like hiking a trail in a State Park.

Who lives in your house?: My husband--Marcus (my HS sweetheart who I hadn't seen for 16 years and married him in 2010), my youngest son, Chris (14)--from previous marriage, our daughter, Carrie-Jean (2), and two dogs--Scheila (8.5 years old) the Schnoodle and Hattie Ann the Hound/Mix (4.5 months old). My oldest son, Sean-Michael (19) lives in his own apartment