Naomi de Valk

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Haarlem Doulas

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Haarlem, Amsterdam, Amstelveen, Bloemendaal, Zandvoort, Hillegom, Leiden

CONTACT INFO:

Email:  naomidevalk@gmail.com

Phone:  (065) 562-8416

Website:  https://www.facebook.com/Haarlem-Doulas-501791243555485/

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I studied at the midwifery school for one year. After that I switched to the nursery. During study I've had a internship in the youth healthcare (preventive healthcare in The Netherlands). After graduation nursery school I started working as a youth nurse. In that job you'll see all the younger children till age of 4 regularly. As a nurse you're checking growth and development, you'll give vaccinations at scheduled times and you'll advice en support parents wherever they need. After four years working as a youth nurse I know very well how to work together with parents and children. I love it!

What led you to become a Doula?: Since I was a teenager I was really interested in pregnancies and birth. In my family I experienced several pregnancies from nearby and I felt so passionate about it.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

You’re having so much patience.   I can see you like to work with children.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: *

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I hope she's happy with expecting her newborn.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Telling her she's doing a good job and giving her a hug when I think she'll need it.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Intouchables

What is your favorite place to vacation?: I've no favorites yet, there are so many beautiful places on earth! But when I was visiting a resort at Koh Samui (Thailand) for me it felt like I was in paradise :)

What is your favorite food?: Hard to choose...Lasagna, sushi, cheesecake, beef stew.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: *

Who lives in your house?: I live together with my boyfriend Arjan.