Naomi Mendes-Pouget

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: pre-Certified Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Naomi Mendes Post-Birth Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Hamilton, Dundas, Ancaster, Burlington, Oakville, Mississauga, Milton, Grimsby

CONTACT INFO:

Email: contact@naomimendes.com

Phone: (416) 459-3249

Website: www.naomimendes.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Three years studying the Bachelor of Health Sciences in Midwifery at Ryerson University, including a 4-month field placement in a busy urban midwifery clinic were 3 amazing years that introduced me to the field of birth work, ignited my passion for it, and equipped me with amazing knowledge that has been my foundation coming into my role as a doula!

What led you to become a Doula?: As soon as I found out about midwifery a handful of years ago, I was immediately hooked on birth work as a career path and passion.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

People have commented on my infectious energy, my friendliness, my discretion, and my caring nature.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: My favourites are: - the OMama app for evidence-based pregnancy information and tracking; - PSI (Postpartum Support International) and PPPSS (Pacific Post Partum Support Society) for resources for PMADS (Perinatal Mood and Anxiety Disorders); - BestStart for resources on a plethora of topics; - Motherisk Helpline for evidence-based information about various substances and pregnancy/breastfeeding; - La Leche League for in-person meetups for breastfeeding and peer support.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I hope they feel supported. I hope they celebrate little joys. I hope they know they're not alone. I hope they take care of and are gentle with themselves. I hope they know they can and should ask for help.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: A listening, supportive, non-judgmental space for them to express themselves freely.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Outlander

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Bali, Indonesia

What is your favorite food?: Bacalhau à Brás (Traditional Portuguese Dish)

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Spend time with my spouse, enjoy the summer air outside and relax by my local beach, go out for dinner at a restaurant, maybe pop into a book store for a while and browse with a coffee in hand.

Who lives in your house?: Myself, my spouse, and our cat Daisy.