Nicole Sivers

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Doulas of Broome County

SERVICES PROVIDED: Antepartum, Labor, Postpartum, & Bereavement Doula services, Placenta Encapsulation, & Misc. Consulting.

About

AREAS SERVED: Most of the Tri-County area, (Broome and most of Tioga and Chenango)

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  (607) 242-5373

Email:   info@doulasofbroomecounty.com

Website:  www.doulasofbroomecounty.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Along with having four very different birth experiences, supporting women (one way or another) throughout their pregnancy, birth, and postpartum period has been a big part of my life for nearly five years.

What led you to become a Doula?: The difference between my first and second birth experience, honestly. With my first, I had no idea what I was doing. I never thought to research anything and did not have enough support. During my second pregnancy, it was the exact opposite. The difference that education and adequate support made was incredible. As soon as I found out there was a job to be that person, I knew I was home.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I have been told by many that I am a great resource for information, very helpful, and supportive. One of the most flattering things I’ve been told by some is what a positive impact I made on them.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Penny Simkin, American Pregnancy Association, KellyMom, and The Natural Child Project are all great resources, but I really enjoy utilizing local resources too.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Excitement for her and her family. I am always wondering what their support network is like. Is it enough?

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: I think one of the best gifts for a new mom is a safe place to figure out her own parenting philosophies and to express herself freely, without judgment.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Growing up and into adulthood, I would have to say my favorite TV show has been Charmed. Movie? I would have a hard time even picking a Top 3!

What is your favorite place to vacation?: I haven’t had the opportunity to do a lot of traveling, but my family loves to go camping!

What is your favorite food?: Something that never gets old to me is broccoli and cheese pizza and Buffalo wings.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Probably sleeping in and reading under a tree somewhere.

Who lives in your house?: In our house we have me, my boyfriend, four daughters, (Lilly, Olivia, Calliope, and Lucy) and family dog; Loki.