Olivia Friel

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Healthy Balanced Birth

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Massachusetts - Greater Boston Area and surrounding towns

CONTACT INFO:

Email: olivia@healthybalancedbirth.com

Phone: (617) 697-8588

Website: www.healthybalancedbirth.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I began working with children at a very young age. I babysat for many years, from middle school through college. During college I worked at a daycare center with children of all ages, starting as young as 3 months old. After college, I took on the role of a Nanny and worked with three wonderful families. I am very familiar with newborns and toddlers and the family dynamic shifts that occur after birth. I am a very compassionate and empathetic person by nature, my biggest motivator is helping people.

What led you to become a Doula?: After working with infants, toddlers and families for so long, the segue into the birth space seemed like the perfect fit for me. I love babies and really want to help expectant mothers during their pregnancy, birth and postpartum period. I also believe there is a lack in the education provided to expectant mothers and their families and want to be a resource for people looking for more information.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I am hardworking, empathetic, passionate, open-minded, reliable, creative, and have a huge heart.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Evidence Based Birth  Mama Natural  Ina May's Guide to Childbirth

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I immediately want to ask them how they are feeling, what their birth experience was like, how their transition into motherhood is going, how old their baby is, how I can support them, etc.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Your time - whether it's simply sitting and listening to them talk, giving them a break and letting them do whatever they want or need to and providing them with resources when they ask.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: TV show - Grey's Anatomy, Movie - Practical Magic

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere near the mountains or the beach

What is your favorite food?: Dark Chocolate

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: With my husband and our two pups, preferably getting outside for a hike and to take some photos! Or a day full of snuggles and home-cooked meals.

Who lives in your house?: Myself, my husband Justin and our two pups, Baxter and Rosie.