Rachel Curtis

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: The Desert Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: El Paso, TX; Las Cruces, NM

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  (915) 201-0787

Email:  thedesertdoula@gmail.com

Website:  thedesertdoula.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I experienced an impressive range of scenarios with my own two babies– a home birth transfer that ended in a cesarean and a home birth after cesarean. It may seem unrelated, but if there's anything that will teach one to stay calm under pressure, it's meeting the demands of New York City's dining culture. There's little that can rattle me after my years working in that sector. I also directed development for a nonprofit that specialized in women’s issues, so I’m well versed in the dismissive attitudes women encounter across the world - and which permeate the birth environment here in the States, as well.

What led you to become a Doula?: I’ve always esteemed birth as a great privilege, and once I experienced that profound sense of accomplishment I became even more passionate about helping other women achieve it, too.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Hmm. Recently, I’ve been told that I’m brave, mature, a good mom, honest, grounded, witty, strong.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Kellymom.com, La Leche League, evidencebasedbirth.com, janetlandsbury.com, notjustcute.com

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I feel happy, I think about my own pregnancies and early weeks with my babies and how precious they were. I hope she’s getting enough support to enjoy them.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Compassion and confidence. And a great recommendation on diaper cream - Grandma El's, hands down. (Also great in lieu of chapstick.)

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Breaking Bad blew my mind, but I rarely watch TV.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Mexico – it’s ten minutes from my door!

What is your favorite food?: Sandwiches. Almost any kind, as long as it’s slathered in mayonnaise.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: So sad … I like to clean my house, lol. Once I've got the dust bunnies up, let's see ... I live next to a mountain so meeting a friend for a hike is an easy early outing. After, I might stretch out on my patio lounges and read, or weed my garden. Or go shopping for a new recipe (that will hopefully turn out awesome) and hunting the perfect bottle of wine to pair it with.

Who lives in your house?: Me and my two sons, Truman and Journey, and three hens, Cracker, Xena, and Mercedes, live in the back yard.