Rachel Redmon

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Greeneville Doula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

About

AREAS SERVED: Greeneville, Johnson City

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (423) 607-0766

Email: greenevilledoula@gmail.com

Website: http://www.greenevilledoula.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I attended labor and postpartum doula trainings with ProDoula. I have a Bachelor in Fine Arts from ETSU and practice in ceramics and photography. I found the births of my two children to be the most intense and empowering experiences of my life. This, coupled with raising them with my unconditional love and support, has helped prepare me for the role of a doula.

What led you to become a Doula?: In all honesty, I stumbled on the idea of becoming a doula in my search to find a career that would couple well with being an artist. It was love at first sight! I love birth. I love making connections with people. I want to empower other people in the incredible and sometimes overwhelming journey of bringing another human being into this world.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I consider myself a realist, but I’ve been called an optimist. I believe there is great power in kindness and compassion. I want to use these qualities as tools to help others and leave a positive, if small, mark on the world. And I’ve been told I’m a great mom!

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Books~ Ina Mays Guide to Childbirth. The Birth Partner. ALSO, each human is unique and one of the best resources a person can have is a strong network of other parents and support persons.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: This simple sight immediately fills me with joy! I want to cry and hug them and congratulate them and tell them they're amazing, but that would be weird so I usually just smile.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The best gift I can give a new mom is to help her find her inner strength and confidence to give her the best possible birth experience, and to carry this on into the transition of becoming a parent.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Labrynth. And I love Wes Anderson Films!

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere with warm water, a beach, and a good book.

What is your favorite food?: I love Indian food!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I love to go to the Cherokee National Forest with my family. We spend the day hiking, picnicking, and playing in Horse Creek.

Who lives in your house?: I live in beautiful East Tennessee with my husband, Brian, and our two awesome kids (2 and 5). We also have kitties, a dog, and 8 chickens!