Rebecca Griffin

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Placenta Specialist

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Growing Hive Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Placenta Specialist

About

AREAS SERVED: Eastern Iowa, Illinois

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (563) 506-4156

Email: growinghivedoulaservices@gmail.com

Website: http://www.growinghivedoulaservices.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have worked as a newborn hearing screener and coordinator for Pediatrix Medical Group which allowed me to see many different hospital births and immediate postpartum experiences.

What led you to become a Doula?: Ever since I was little, I have always been fascinated by everything birth. As I grew up, I began educating myself every way I could. I learned about midwifery and eventually what it means to be a doula and the flood gates opened from there.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I am passionate about this work. I am great working with people. I am respectful and loyal to the people.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Ina May's Guide to Childbirth. The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: When I see a pregnant woman or a new mother, my first thought is how overwhelmed they can feel with all of the unsolicited advice and opinions of the people they encounter every day. So my thoughts when I see a new mom or pregnant woman is to give them a listening ear and open mind for them.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: I believe the best gift you can give to a new mother is a listening ear. If you listen to a new mother, she will tell you what she needs.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Legends of the Fall

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere near water: rivers, lakes, oceans, etc.

What is your favorite food?: Macaroni and cheese

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: My favorite way to spend a day off is staying at home, reading a book, playing with my cat, or working on my latest craft project.

Who lives in your house?: My partner Trevor and my cat Hemingway